Exam Tips =)

Hi!
So this week, I took the
Exam-778 Analyzing and Visualizing Data with Microsoft Power BI &
Exam 779 Analyzing and Visualizing Data with Microsoft Excel and passed both.
I got a few questions about how I revised, so I thought I’d capture my thoughts here.

Firstly both exams are very similar, so DO take them either on the same day (like me) or close together, as you may as well do revision for them together! It’s nice to space out revision but also take the day before (ideally) just to go over notes.

Books: Both of the course books were very helpful: Power Bi & Excel
What I often did was, when coming across a topic in the book that I wasn’t familiar with – I looked to then back it up by going onto the world wide web and looking at videos.

For example, when learning about Power Bi embedded, I went and watched videos of them in action.

Or when learning about KPI’s in Excel, I went and read blog posts of them in action. Don’t be limited to the content within the books.
The chapter end questions are also a great way to test knowledge, pay good attention to them.

Youtube: Firstly GuyInACube have a great video PBI playlist for the exam which are fun to watch and also easy to digest. Just watch one a day and take the information in as a steady pace!
These DAT206x videos were great for Excel, although I did personally find I skipped through a lot of content due to knowing it already, but could be helpful!


Exam Practice:
CriticalPathTraining Exam – this is a great video to watch but beware of the fact that some of the questions might be out of date, so ensure you look at the comments and do you own research as well!
-Rishi Sapra’s Quiz is great (also very difficult). In particular, it’s great as it links to content which is a great way to brush up useful info, and end up on other useful site pages.

Practice :

In particular for me personally, as I use the tool a lot, a lot of it was stuff I already knew. But in particular there were parts of

PBI – PBI embedded, PowerBI Report Server, PowerBi Admin settings, Tenant Settings, Office 365 Usergroup settings

Excel – How to publish from excel to PBI, CUBEMEMBER and CUBEVALUE functions

which were new to me and therefore where I spent more time revising!

Good Luck and Happy Power Revising 🙂

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started